What Are The 14 Major Allergens?


Cereals Containing Gluten

Wheat, rye, barley and oats are often found in foods containing flour, some baking powder, batter, breadcrumbs, cakes, couscous, meat products, pasta, pastry, sauces, soups and some fried food.

Read More >>


Crustaceans

Crabs, lobster, prawns and scampi are crustaceans. Shrimp paste is an allergen in this category that is commonly used in Thai and South-East Asian cooking.

Read More >>


Eggs

Eggs are found in cakes, some meat products, mayonnaise, mousses, pasta, quiche, sauces and pastries. Some food products are glazed with eggs during cooking. 

Read More >>


Fish

You may find fish sauces in pizzas, relishes, salad dressings, stock cubes and Worcestershire sauce. 

Read More >>


Peanuts

Peanuts are often used as an ingredient in biscuits, cakes, curries, desserts, sauces, groundnut oil and peanut flour. 

Read More >>


Soya

Found sometimes in bean curd, edamame beans, miso pastes, textured soy protein, soya, flour or tofu. Soya is a staple ingredient in Oriental food. It can be found in desserts, ice cream, meat products, sauces and vegetarian products. 

Read More >>


Milk

Milk is found in dairy products such as butter, cheese, cream, milk powders and yoghurt. Some foods are also glazed with milk during cooking. It’s also commonly found in powdered soups and sauces. 

Read More >>


Nuts

Nuts (excluding Peanuts) refers to nuts that are grown on trees; unlike peanuts, which are grown underground. This includes cashew nuts, almonds and hazelnuts. 

Read More >>


Celery

This includes the celery stalks, leaves, seeds and the root. Usually found in celery salt, salads, some meat products, soups and stock cubes. 

Read More >>


Mustard

This includes Mustard in the form of powder, liquid and seeds. This ingredient is used in bread, curries, marinades, meat products, salad dressings, sauces and soups. 

Read More >>


Sesame

These are found commonly in bread, usually sprinkled on buns such as hamburger buns, breadsticks, hummus, sesame oil and tahini. 

Read More >>


Sulphur Dioxide (Sulphites)

This is an ingredient often used in dried fruits and in some meat products, soft drinks, vegetables, wine and beer. Asthmatics have a higher risk of developing an allergy to sulphites. 

Read More >>


Lupin

Lupin is a flower, but it is also sometimes found in flour and is sometimes used in bread, pastries and pasta. 

Read More >>


Molluscs

Includes mussels, land snails, squid and whelks, but can also be found in oyster sauce, which is commonly used in fish stews for example. 

Read More >>


Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.